top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoseph Spahn

One on One with GT Dave

Spring is right around the corner! We cannot wait to open our outdoor dining patio for you all to enjoy. We hope that the good weather continues and that everyone is still being safe in these trying times. Over the past few months, we have been in contacts with the largest Kombucha company in the United States, GT’s Living Foods. They own 40% of the kombucha market and their CEO, GT Dave, was the one who started it all. We were lucky enough to be able to sit down at talk to him about his story and success.

Q: What makes your kombucha superior to all the other competitors?

A: Well are kombucha is #1 selling because it is raw, organic, naturally effervescent, and handcrafted in small batches…always cultured, never compromised. Although we have started manufacturing on a grand scale, we still keep our process slow simple and precise. This is an amazing product that can benefit so many people.


Q: Why did you start brewing kombucha?

A: In 1994, my mom, Laraine, was diagnosed with breast cancer. She was fortunately able to beat cancer, and when she did she told her doctors that she had been drinking a very pungent, homemade tea. That tea was my very first kombucha. After what I saw it could do for my mom and I knew that this was my passion in life. I had to help the world experience the power of kombucha.

Q: What keeps you going?

A: First and foremost, my mother. She has been by my side with me every step of the way and I am grateful for her to still be alive. At the same time, I have a desire to help others continuously still by making new and innovative flavors along with products. I have made a kefir and yogurt that are now out on shelves. I am still very much apart of the business.

Q: What is your favorite flavor?

A: Haha well I love them all! I drink kombucha 24/7 and different times of the day I want/crave a different flavor. BUT…if I had to pick one I would probably say Trilogy, it is our most sold product and the demand for it is crazy. It is a very classic kombucha taste.

Q: We admire what you are doing for the community and set a standard for businesses like mine to get creative in the health and wellness industry. What do you see for the future of health food stores?

A: Oh, stores like that are going to boom even more than they already are within the next 10 years. Healthy food is starting to become the “in” thing and it is our job to help everyone with open arms. I have a very optimistic viewpoint for the future of our society.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page